Hypocritical Hyperbole

The Abomination of Obama's Nation

Things I liked in 2011 (Part 1 of ?) December 26, 2011

Filed under: Video Games — Micah Griffin @ 20:28
Tags: , , ,

This blog totally skews negative because the world is full of stupid people that do stupid things. What’s more so is that a lot of people don’t really discuss some of the stupid things people do and why they’re stupid. I’m not great at it, but I try. This post, and probably one or two more are just dedicated to stuff I loved this year. This isn’t exactly a best of 2011. Let’s be honest, to do a full on best of 2011 in a lot of categories requires a lot of time and a lot of money. Playing all the video games, listening to all the music, reading all the books, watching all the tv and movies; it’s an endeavor. There’s money and time involved that I don’t have. So this list are things that are just new to me this year.

I’ll knock the easiest one out of the way first. The thing that has taken the biggest hit for me due to school and work is Video Games. I do not have nearly the time that I use to for playing them, nor the $60 it costs to buy the mainstream popular ones. On the digital front $15 seems to have become the standard price for bigger indie games, and that’s a bit steep for how short or unfinished some game are. I understand that long doesn’t necessarily mean better, but the game has to be DAMN good for me to pay $15 for something I’m done with in an hour two. It just doesn’t work in my life. That said, let’s do this! Also, these are not in any order. I’m not devoting energy to that.

Video Game I liked 1

Don't fight that Bear, it will kill you

Skyrim, cause it’s fresh in my mind. I’ve only had it for about a month, but I’m absolutely in love with it. It’s an adventure game’s adventure game. It works kind of like this; You create a character then run away from a dragon. From there, do whatever (*not really. When gamers talk about freedom in most games they really mean the ability to kill or not to kill when you feel like it) you want. You can kill the person guarding you or follow them to a town to get some quests. You can steal things and fight people or buy things. You can learn to smith, cook, forge, smelt, talk, and other things. All of this in an attempt to make it easier for you to kill/not kill things. What I love about the game is how big it is. The map is huge, it takes hours to walk across it on foot. (Honestly, takes almost as long on horse back). I love the surprises the game has for you. The main story is traditional fantasy bullshit, but there are secrets hidden about that are kinda cool. There are books with riddles and puzzles, there are dungeons with sleeping people and wolf fighting rings, and vampires and werewolves, mages, wizards, fire demon looking thingies, conjurers, zombie type fighting skeletons, and necromancers. The outside world has bears that will kill you (no really, don’t fight the bears), Sabertooth Tigers,  ice trolls that hate you, Giants that will wreck your shit, and Dragons. Lots of Dragons that aren’t as hard to kill as they maybe should be, but whatevs. They’re still fun. Mostly, I just love the ability to get kind of lost in this world where there isn’t a terrible story forced down my throat in bad cut-scenes (it’s kinda forced with talky bits and people with only four different accents). I make up the story for myself as I go along. It’s totally fan fic in my head the entire time and it is GREAT!!

Video Game I like 2

CAVE STORY WII

I'm Curly Brace!

See, this is totally cheating, because I played cave story when it first came out for free in English. But, this time around I played it on the Wii as Curly Brace! It makes it into a totally different game. And by that I mean Curly actually has lines of dialogue where Quote didn’t say anything. This game is good. It’s kind of like Metroid, but different. So it’s good. This game is about mad scientists turning cute little bunny creatures into angry evil fighting mad bunny creatures and you having to stop them. It’s an old school style exploration shooter game. I like the soundtrack a lot, the actual shooting mechanics are fairly great and the way Curly jumps doesn’t make me want to kill things. The real star for this (as it should be, and is for comparable titles like metroid and post symphony of the night castlevania games) is the level design. It’s all put together well. It encourages exploration and hides it’s secrets well. I feel like you can find everything the game has to offer if you just look closely. Nothing is super obscure. Some of the secret items require you to do tricky things you wouldn’t do on purpose your first time around most likely, but that’s fine in a game like this. The cool weapons you’re allowed to get for putting up with the higher difficulty of trying to do weird things is worth it to me. It’s just an absolute blast to go through.

It’s free on the PC, but you can buy Cave Story on the Wii for like $10 or whatever. Or you can buy it on the 3DS for like $40 or something (I wouldn’t, but you can), or you can get it on Steam or something like that (I got it on Humble Bundle 4? or 3?) for like $not much.

Those are the ebst new games to me in 2011. The other games I played and really enjoyed this year were old stand byes. I love Pokemon and played quite a bit of gold/silver again this year as well as went back in on Chrono Trigger for the Nintendo DS. Both are games I’m quite fond of. I played through the Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker again this year and started Metroid Prime 1 (which may be my favorite gamecube game of all of them). So yeah, not much new this year. It may change next year as there are a couple of games I’ve purchased in the past few months through the humble bundle or cheap steam sales that will definitely get played cause I’m not buying any more games.

Or I could play skyrim for sixty more hours and not play anything else. We’ll see how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

