Hypocritical Hyperbole

The Abomination of Obama's Nation

Micah’s Back In School! August 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Micah Griffin @ 22:03

Yeah, I’m back in school! Here’s to another semester of education. This semester isn’t so crazy as some past ones. I’ve got American Literature from beginnings to 1800 (which is easily my least favorite period of time in American Literature), Health (which already appears to already be a super problematic and overly judgmental class), and Geology.

American Literature so far has just reaffirmed my hatred of European explorers. Everything I learn about them (seriously, everything) makes me hate them more and more. Fuck having an entire day devoted to Columbus. How do people even justify this? Well, possibly because we completely ignore American Genocide.  Like, it’s actually appalling that the dude has his own holiday. That’s cool. But for real. We are looking at the writings of people like Columbus and John Smith, and other white dudes who came in killing and raping and laughing about it.

Health class so far has given me one questionaire that left me super uneasy. Too many negative associations with things that aren’t negative. Too many completely subjective ideas on what is and isn’t healthy. Piercings are apparently just as unhealthy as bulimia (which is presented in a very thoughtless manner). We’ll see how this class goes.

Finally there’s geology, in which my teacher is doing a weird Cameroonian Morrisson/Hickman impersonation. I took lots of notes and don’t have the slightest idea of what happened in class.

Mostly I told you all of that to let you know what I’m going to be up to mostly for the next sixteen or so weeks and what you can expect to be reading about. Cause really, school is all I have time for once the work actually gets poppin.

 

Leave a Reply

