Hypocritical Hyperbole

The Abomination of Obama's Nation

The Blog is Back November 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Micah Griffin @ 22:11

Well, it’s been a month, and National Novel Writing Month is just about over. M novel, as normal has crashed and burned. It was a valuable learning experience. Something I’ve learned, how about you don’t do what you’re not good at. I’m not a high concept kind of guy. I tried my hand at it, and it didn’t work. It is something I’d like to explore again in the future, but it is a thing that I absolutely cannot crank out in thirty days.

I have learned that the way you have to plan to structure a novel in thirty days  is whatever way I didn’t do it. I left myself too open to go too many places during the actual writing process and that lead to sloppy storytelling and a lack of overall focus. I can’t try to write more than one story at once. Just get one central idea and nail it. No layered storytelling with symbolism and deep contexts. Point A to Point B and be done with it.

On the bright side, I’ve created some awesome characters that I will definitely revisit. I have a world I can actually do something with, and I even ended off this years story in a way to lead into next years. Very promising, I just have to do more and better planning when the time comes.

Now onto more dire news. In the month I was gone from here I lost a good friend. Eric Martin passed away on Wednesday November 18th. I didn’t find out about it until the day after and I’m still not sure I’ve gotten over it. It’s a strange thing how someone you’ve never met in person can have such a large impact on your life. Eric was a co-host on DC noise with Mike Myers and could be found erratically on any number of other geeky podcasts across the comics podcasting universe. I’m not going to eulogize him here, it’s been done by people who knew him better and had easier and better words to use have done a better job than I ever could. As made example of by the simple fact that I used better three times in one sentence.

I have changed prospective career directions for about the sixtieth time in my short life. The best thing about not being able to take a lot of classes in a semester is that I have time to figure out what it is in life I really want to do. I’ve put in lots of thought and prayer about it and the truth is . . . I don’t have a damn clue. Surprisingly, that’s a relaxing feeling. I’ll go where I’m suppose to. Where life leads me or whatever. I do have an idea and a general direction in where that is, but I can’t announce it until I figure out exactly how to fire myself there. Like out of a rocket, not fire like lose my job. I want no part of that.

I have learned how hard it is to write every day. It’s darn near impossible, but I think I can handle it. It’s the only way this blog is going to work for what I want it to do. I am looking for suggestions on how to break this thing up from here on out though. So give it to me.

At this point in time I just simply cannot write enough to run blogs dedicated to each of my hobbies. I also don’t involve myself enough each and every day in each of them for that to work. So with that, is it a good idea to write about sports, comics, movies, tv, music, and my dreadful city (Charlotte, NC for those who may not know) in different blogs, or just keep them all in this one. All of it being totally disjointed. Maybe I’ll find a way to set up different RSS feeds for different categories. So if you hate sports you don’t have to read about them when I write them, or if you don’t like music or movies or whatever. You get the point.

I’ve forgotten what else I was going to write. The Steeler’s are playing Steeler Football right now (Note: That’s one of the most overused phrases in all of sports and it has no meaning. Whenever Pittsburgh does ANYTHING, it’s playing Steeler football. It use to mean being hard nosed, having a great defense, not letting people run the ball on you, running the ball first and foremost, having great line play on offense and defense, having good enough special teams, and a balding quarterback. None of that is happening in Pittsburgh right now. Yet, that phrase is continuously tossed around like it has meaning).

 

Leave a Reply

