Hypocritical Hyperbole

The Abomination of Obama's Nation

Your musics is not sweet December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Micah Griffin @ 23:44
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Remember that CD you looooved when you were younger and didn’t know anything about “good” music and “bad” music just what you liked and what you didn’t? Then you found out later from people who obviously knew better your one album was treacherously bad. You had nothing to do but agree. The lyrics are bad, the music is just kind of there, the vocals are kind of bland. You then stop listening to it and forget it all together. Then some years later a song from that album pokes into your head for no reason at all. Just pops there intruding your thoughts. It sits tugging at your mind forcing it’s little diddy deep into you. The light clicks on and you realize that these past few years you’ve totally neglected something that did nothing but provide you with immense pleasure.
No? Well me either until today. Utada Hikaru’s Exodus was totally my favourite CD to listen to in 2004. Then my elitist music friends told me how terrible it was and I couldn’t argue. As I said the lyrics are absolutely terrible and she’s only a good singer. ONLY good. She’s no valkrye and as such not worth listening to. I grew out of my elitist phase a while ago but Exodus was an unfortunate casualty of my brief phase. For some terrible reason “Kremlin Dusk” popped into my head and I couldn’t get it out. I immediately pull the CD out from whatever dust filled box I kept it in and listened to it as loud as I could handle. Mmmm. Beautiful. The lyrics really are terrible but I’m still in love with it. Cant’ say why either.
Maybe I needed the three years away to appreciate it again, but something says I just spent three years away from one of my greatest pleasures. Sure I don’t seriously listen to j-pop anymore just for growing out of it and and totally out of that weird manga anime culture but some things never leave you.
<3.

 

Leave a Reply

